A Life Celebrated

Saying a Final Farewell to my Grandpa Stan

I had only been in Papua New Guinea a few short weeks, when my grandpa suddenly collapsed with a cerebral haemorrhage. He lay in a coma for four days, before slipping away peacefully on Thursday 19 February 2015.

I had resigned myself to not being able to get home, but MAF PNG stepped in and I flew back to New Zealand the day Grandpa died. Though I did not see him again, I was here to support my family, to grieve with them, to help arrange the memorial service, and to share my own personal tribute at the celebration of Grandpa’s life.

I am truly grateful to MAF PNG for their genuine compassion (many people came over just to hug me) and their assistance in getting me back to New Zealand at such short notice. My heart is filled with love and gratitude also to those dear friends of mine who have thoughtfully and generously helped cover the cost of my journey home and back. It means everything to me and to my family. Thank you.

Grandpa was a close and special part of my life, and he is scattered through the landscape of all my memories; playing with him and Nonna in Africa, having them live with us in New Zealand for 7 years, and loving how Grandpa could make anything grow from the dirt.

Now, as I return to Papua New Guinea, I remember Grandpa’s firm belief that I will make a difference. He was so proud of all his grandchildren, and he prayed for me continuously and let me know that God will take care of me in PNG. Grandpa wrote me a beautiful letter when I left New Zealand. His final words to me: “Go, my daughter; your soul is filled with glory and love.”

Tears of God

 

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “A Life Celebrated

  1. olgaeijeriks@yahoo.com

    Dear Emma,  Sorry to hear about the loss of your opa. He was such a lovely man. yes indeed I remember his garden very well when you lived in waiuku ???  There was parsley galore. And he was so proud of it. Its not sad for him that he is gone as we know he will be at the best place where ever you can be. But it is sad for you all that he is now in glory. That you all may find strenght in knowing that He is with Jesus and one day we will all meet again. Blessings and Hugs   The Eijeriks Family. 🙂

    From: PNG Ponderings To: olgaeijeriks@yahoo.com Sent: Wednesday, 11 March 2015 2:52 PM Subject: [New post] A Life Celebrated #yiv8664888045 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv8664888045 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv8664888045 a.yiv8664888045primaryactionlink:link, #yiv8664888045 a.yiv8664888045primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv8664888045 a.yiv8664888045primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv8664888045 a.yiv8664888045primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv8664888045 WordPress.com | Emmuccia posted: “Saying a Final Farewell to my Grandpa StanI had only been in Papua New Guinea a few short weeks, when my grandpa suddenly collapsed with a cerebral haemorrhage. He lay in a coma for four days, before slipping away peacefully on Thursday 19 February 20” | |

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

